Canada CupNetwork
CJHL: Dudley Hewitt Cup




The Dudley-Hewitt Cup is a championship ice hockey trophy awarded to the the Central Canada Junior A Champion.  The trophy is currently decided by round robin tournament format, at the conclusion of the playoffs of the Ontario Junior Hockey League, Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League, and Superior International Junior Hockey League, to determine the central seed to the Royal Bank Cup.  The Royal Bank Cup is the Canadian National Junior A Championship and is competed for by teams within the Canadian Junior Hockey League only.

The current format includes the champions of the OJHL, NOJHL and SIJHL and a pre-selected host city, but in the past has included the champions of the Central Canada Hockey League, Quebec Junior Hockey League, and even the champion of the Callaghan Cup (Atlantic Provinces).


The trophy is named after George Dudley and W.A. Hewitt, two pioneers of amateur hockey in Ontario.

The 2002 Dudley-Hewitt Cup marked a new chapter in Ontario hockey history.  Since the mid 1990's, the OPJHL and NOJHL squared off in a head-to-head series to determine the Central Canadian seed in the Royal Bank Cup.  In 2001, a new Thunder Bay area league, called the Superior International Junior Hockey League was founded.  Late in the 2001-02 season of the OPJHL and NOJHL, the CJAHL informed them that instead of a series the Dudley would be competed for through a round robin format.  


The Copeland-McNamara Trophy champions of the Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League, the Bill Salonen Cup champions of the Superior International Junior Hockey League and the Buckland Cup Champions of the Ontario Junior Hockey League compete in a round robin hosted by a pre-determined city to determine the Central Canadian Junior A Champion.

The winner of the Dudley-Hewitt Cup moves on to compete for the Royal Bank Cup Junior A National Championship.


Year    Champion
1971    Charlottetown Islanders (MJAHL)
1972    Guelph CMC's (SOJHL)
1973    Pembroke Lumber Kings (CJHL)
1974    Smiths Falls Bears (CJHL)
1975    Guelph Biltmore Mad Hatters (SOJHL)
1976    Rockland Nationals (CJHL)
1977    Pembroke Lumber Kings (CJHL)
1978    Guelph Platers (OPJHL)
1979    Guelph Platers (OPJHL)
1980    North York Rangers (OPJHL)
1981    Belleville Bulls (OPJHL)
1982    Guelph Platers (OJHL)
1983    North York Rangers (OJHL)
1984    Orillia Travelways (OJHL)
1985    Orillia Travelways (OJHL)
1986    Orilla Travelways (OJHL)
1987    Pembroke Lumber Kings (CJHL)
1988    Pembroke Lumber Kings (CJHL)
1989    Thunder Bay Flyers (USHL)
1990    Longueuil College Francais (QPJHL)
1991    Thunder Bay Flyers (USHL)
1992    Thunder Bay Flyers (USHL)
1993    Chateauguay Elites (QPJHL)
1994    Chateauguay Elites (QPJHL)
1995    Thunder Bay Flyers (USHL)
1996    Newmarket 87's (OPJHL)
1997    Rayside-Balfour Sabrecats (NOJHL)
1998    Milton Merchants (OPJHL)
1999    Bramalea Blues (OPJHL)
2000    Rayside-Balfour Sabrecats (NOJHL)
2001    Thornhill Rattlers (OPJHL)
2002    Rayside-Balfour Sabrecats (NOJHL)
2003    Wellington Dukes (OPJHL)
2004    Aurora Tigers (OPJHL)
2005    Georgetown Raiders (OPJHL)
2006    Fort William North Stars (SIJHL)
2007    Aurora Tigers (OPJHL)
2008    Oakville Blades (OPJHL)
2009    Kingston Voyageurs (OJHL)
2010    Oakville Blades (OJAHL)
2011    Wellington Dukes (OJHL)
2012    Soo Thunderbirds (NOJHL)
2013    Minnesota Wilderness (SIJHL)
2014    Toronto Lakeshore Patriots (OJHL)
    Soo Thunderbirds (NOJHL)
2016    Trenton Golden Hawks (OJHL)
2017    Trenton Golden Hawks (OJHL)